Curls, Curls, Curls: Living with a lion’s mane. 

“I just love your curls, I wish I had them”

Ha! No, you don’t. Don’t get me wrong, if I had to choose between being my noodle haired self, and having stick straight hair, I would still choose my curls, but believe me, you don’t want them unless you have the will to get up every day and fight to tame them, and attempt to make them publicly presentable. And don’t get me started on the cost of these springy demons. Do you know how much it costs to buy product after product until you find what works for you? Not only that, but once you do find them, you have to stock up on as many bottle or tubes of it as you can, because these companies seem to take a sick pleasure in making us suffer when they stop selling our precious, precious products. And don’t get me started on the amount of hair ties, Bobby pins, clips, and headbands you’ll go through. Just this morning my curls were so wild, I actually broke three hair ties trying to pull them back, and almost broke another trying to squeeze them into it so I could fit them under my work hat. Not only that, but I’m almost positive I’ve lost at least three Bobby pins in the mysterious forrest that I call my hair, today. I’m sure they’ll pop up sometime this week when I’m washing my hair, but until then I’ll just have to pray I don’t accidentally lobotomize myself by rolling over on one in my sleep. Now, I know people assume our curls just magically turn into their silky, springy gloriousness all on their own, but for naturals, we know that is the furthest from the truth, so I’ve decided to make a list of products I’ve tried that work wonders on my curls, without making them stiff and icky. They’ll be listed in order of my preferences, and this is not a sponsorship, just a curl, staring at a screen saying…..These curls hate me.

1.) Garnier Fructis Sleek and Shine; Leave in Conditioner. 

My absolute favorite for when I know my hair is going to be down, because it keeps it from being fuzzy, but also lets my hair do it’s natural thing, without weighing it down. It also makes heavy curls feel so much lighter, keeping long hair from being so heavy that it gives you headaches.

2.) Herbal Essences’ Totally Twisted Curl Boosting Mousse. 

They offer several different kinds, but honestly they all work great, especially if you’re pulling your hair back, but this is my favorite. I mostly use this when I pull my hair back, because it does great with fly aways, but it doesnt make your hair feel like straw. I don’t like my hair feeling stiff, which is one reason I normally avoid mousse. But this stuff is like frothy gold in a can, I swear. 

3.) Shea Moisture; Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smootie.

This stuff is like $6 at Wal-Mart if you can find it. I would use this for the rest of my life, but a lot of stores don’t carry it all the time. And not only is it amazing on naturals, but it also smell divine, and it feel like you’re spreading heaven through your hair.

4.) Göt2b Kinkier Gloss’ n Define Curling Mousse. 

It looks good, it smells great, and it just has a really cool name, and to top it off, your curls will look aaaaammmmaaazzziiinnngggg, literally all day….And the next day too, because it lasts so long. If you end up not wanting to wash your hair the next day, just wet your hands and rescrunch it, and it looks just as good as if you had just done it that morning. Don’t ask how I know this….That’s a story for another time.

5.) Pantene Curl Perfection Controlling Curl Creme.

This stuff is a savior on days when humidity is all up in your face with that fuzziness. And it’s oil-enriched so it makes your hair look and feel like actual silk. 

So those are my top five products. None of which I could live without. They keep my hair looking healthy, and strong. And honestly, they just smell so good, which is also a big thing for me. People frequently ask how I take care of my hair, especially other naturals who have struggled with it all their lives and don’t know what to do, so they resort to straightening it to the point of basically frying it from roots to ends. So I figured I’d just offer a few tips for anyone else blessed with a crown of curls, and how to care for them.

  1. First of all, do NOT wash your hair everyday! I know you’re probably thinking “Ew, but that’s so gross!” But in reality it is actually slouch healthier for your hair, the less you wash it. I’m not saying you shouldn’t keep it clean, that’s not what I mean at all. Definitely wash it whenever you shower, but just hold off on using shampoo as long as possible. Also, if you are one who washes your hair everyday, don’t just stop washing it all of the sudden, or your hair will get incredibly oily, because it’s used to producing oil on a daily basis. Ease into it. Skip one day, then two, three, etc. I shampoo and condition on Saturdays now, but I’m to the point that I don’t even have to do that, I can go a very long time before my hair actually gets gross, I just like to avoid product build up on my scalp. Two, if you can, switch from using an actual brush or comb, and switch to a hair pick. They’re super easy to find, and not that expensive. But they don’t split your ends, or break your hair, the less damage you inflict on your curls, the better.  My next tip would be to pull your hair up on top of your head before you go to bed, if it’s long enough. Rolling around on your hair, can cause a lot of damage to it. So braid it, or pull it up. Keratin oil is a Godsend when it comes to natural curls, use it at least once a month to prevent dryness, and breakage. DO NOT STRAIGHTEN YOUR HAIR! “But my curls are just so heavy, and I can’t do as many styles unless it’s straight” Yes, well first of all, your hair weighs the same no matter how straight it is, don’t make excuses.God gave you your curls, embrace ’em. Plus, they’re just an incredibly cute blessing to have. Avoid heat as much as possible, it is one of the worst things you could do to your hair, I know this from experience, because I have fried my hair more than once, and probably will again, because I’m stubborn and make terrible choices. Don’t make bad choices, just avoid the straightener. Another thing that insist likely going to sound hypocritical coming from me, an avid lover of color, is don’t dye your hair unless you absolutely can’t resist (I typically can’t). I’ve been dying my hair for years, one color over another. Red, brown, purple, pink, blue, you name it, I’ve done it. But I recently bought a dye stripper for my hair, so I could go back to my natural, bland blonde, and then dye again, But even on the first day, my hair felt so soft and light without all of the dye in it, that I’ve decided to stay my natural color, and even I, a such as I love dying my hair, recommend avoiding it, unless your hiding your age, or your identity. Neither of which I recommend, because grey hair is epic, white hair is even cooler, and if your hiding your identity, you’re most likely doing something really illegal.  So again, make good choices.  For now that’s all I can think of, but I hope its helpful, and you can be proud to leave your hair natural. So embrace your curls, be confident, and just try your best to tame the beast.

As always, I hope you enjoyed my post. Peace out, kinksters. 

~Abby.


Leave a Reply

