5 tricks to avoid awkward conversations.

If you’re anything like me, then conversations can be a bit of a tricky thing. Let me tell you, there are days when I avoid conversation all together, simply because I’m not actually sure how to respond to something. Some days I just want to stomp my foot and shout “Listen, Buster, this is not how I rehearsed this in the shower!” but I’m almost positive that would only make things worse. Now, a lot of people tell me I’m a calm, charming girl, and that I can talk to anybody….And I can. But that doesn’t mean I want to, okay? I smile and nod, ask questions, and even..Wait for it…Make eye contact! I know, that’s not too common these days. But all the while, I’m having a freak out session, hoping I don’t say something weird, and earn myself that all too familiar dead stare, like I’d turned into a tap dancing lizard in a top hat. So, how do you you remain calm and collected long enough to seem like an ever so normal homosapien? Well, let me tell you. Here’s my top 5 tricks for awkward girls.

1.) Deep breath!

Breathing is a bigger part of conversation than you might think. Steady breathing allows more oxygen to reach your brain, and in turn it’s easier to think, and be wittier, and quicker with you responses. Remember to breath, lovelies.

2.) Relax!

The more relaxed you are, the more relaxed the other person will be, and then pretty soon the tension is barely there anymore. Being relaxed in your own body gives you an aura of zen, and even if people don’t call it that, they still have other ways to explain it, but basically they see that you’re just a really cool person, and they don’t have to feel weird around you.

3.) Eye contact!

Eye contact is a tricky thing. Stare too long, and it can get awkward, but if you avoid it for the majority of the time, people might assume you’re disinterested in what they have to say. The trick is to keep eye contact, flicking your eyes away  every little bit. Trust me, it works like a charm.

4.) Be yourself!

This is my biggest suggestion. If you always act like someone you’re not, eventually you’ll start to forget who you really are, and honestly you’re an awesome person, don’t throw that away simply for someone’s approval. When discussing certain topics, express your opinion, and be firm in it. Always be polite about it, but don’t lower yourself to mindless agreement to spare feelings. You’re a human being too, you have feelings, thoughts, opinions, and that’s okay! Own it!

5.) Just have FUN!

Make that witty remark, tell that joke that is so stupid it makes you laugh like a madman. The key to an absolutely remarkable conversation is laughter. Laughter is the best feeling in the world. It’s warm, happy, it’s what we all crave when we’re sad, when we’re happy, when we’re supposed to be quiet, but you can’t help it. There’s always a part of you that is craving laughter, the way a pregnant woman craves pickles and strawberry yogurt. If you make someone laugh, chances are they’ll never forget you.

 

And those are my 5 tips on how to make it through the awkwardest of conversations. I hope these help you as much as they’ve helped me. Stay beautiful lovelies!

 

~Abby ♥♥.

Leave a Reply

